My name’s Nick Pope and I used to run the British Government’s UFO project, Ask Me Anything,

Thread started by NickPope at ATS

I worked for the British Government for 21 years at the Ministry of Defense (MoD). I had a variety of fascinating posts in the course of this career, with my final posting being to the Directorate of Defense Security, where I was an acting Deputy Director. I’m best-known for a posting I held between 1991 and 1994, where my job was to investigate UFO sightings reported to the MoD, to see whether there was evidence of any potential threat, or anything of more general defense interest.

Since leaving the MoD in 2006, I’ve been involved in the 5-year program to declassify and release the entire archive of MoD UFO files, which was completed in June. I’ve been the public face of this process and have probably given several hundred media interviews on the subject, including appearances on high-profile shows such as Good Morning America, Larry King Live and the BBC News.

In relation to the UFO phenomenon, I classify myself neither as a believer nor as a skeptic. Accordingly, I sometimes manage to upset ufologists in both camps. I certainly think that there are some compelling cases out there and clearly there’s more to this than just weather balloons, swamp gas and fake videos on YouTube. However, I do not regard the case for extraterrestrial visitation to have been conclusively proven and I disagree with most of the conspiracy theories on the subject. Whatever the true nature of the UFO phenomenon, I believe it raises important defense, national security and air safety issues. It is also worthy of more general scientific study.

I now work as an author, journalist and broadcaster, covering a wide range of subjects including the unexplained, conspiracy theories, fringe science and science fiction. I also help with the launch of various sci-fi movies and alien-themed video games, the latest of which is The Bureau: XCOM Declassified.

Ask Me Anything.

This entry was posted in ATS Threads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

